top of page
  • emmasummerxy

TY-Ball + Cliffs of Moher

Hello everyone and welcome back!

Since this is written nearly a week after the events, I want to apologies in advance. I´ll try to write as accurate as possible, but there might be a shortened version of each event. So much has happened over the last week. Let´s start.

On the Monday (6th of February) there was a bank holiday in Ireland, because of their female saint, St. Bridget. My host family had planned a day trip to the west coast, so early morning we left the house and started to drive to Co. Clare. After a drive through Roscommon, we stopped at the house of father Ted. It´s an ancient Irish comedy and the house where it was filmed stands in the middle of nowhere. Just after a few minutes we continues driving and got out of the car again Poulnabrone. It is a stunning landscape at the back of beyond with the central statue of an old stone grave. My host siblings and I had the best time jumping across the rocks, racing who can get there fastest without touching the gras. That was class and I had a laugh. We stayed there for a little while before we drive on. Around midday, we stopped at a famous souvenir shop, the Rock. To warm us up, we drank a cup of tea and were ready to go. The main attraction of the whole trip were the cliffs of Moher. I was blown away by the beauty of nature when I saw it. God there really are some gorgeous places in Ireland. We walked along the cliffs, going up to little Towers, jumping up and down the stairs and doing the walk along the cliffs. It was brilliant. The views you get are terrific! I know now, why the Cliffs of Moher are one of the most visited tourist attractions in Ireland. It was awesome! The day out didn´t even stop there. On our way back, we stopped in the core town of Ireland, Athlone, and had a drink in the oldest Pub of Ireland. It´s a small comfy bar, which has expanded a mentionable amount over the last decades, but the new parts are nice and welcoming too. It was the perfect ending to such a wonderful day. When we got back to the house everyone just fell into their bed and had a good night of sleep:)

I went back to school on the Tuesday, but nothing exciting happened. In the evening time, I met up with a friend of mine and we walked around the pitch for hours. I´m so glad and thankful that I finally found my friends. She is absolutely lovely and we kept talking for hours. That was exceptionally nice.

The suns is starting to rise earlier and earlier. Because of that, I get to see the sunset on the bust every morning. Oh, that is fantastic, the sights you get. This week the whole ski was reddish-pink for nearly half an hour. IT was really pretty.

On the Wednesday in school. I finished of a poster. I wasn´t in for the last few weeks on Wednesday, because I had gone on matches with the younger girls basketball team. Anyway, I had started this poster about the Austrian-Hungarian Empire and finally got to finish it. I have to say, I am extremely proud of myself for drawing such a good map. So please have a look and appreciate my talent with me.

Also, my host sister came back late Wednesday evening. She´s been skiing in Italy. I think she had a good time and is able to at least stand on the skies without falling.

The trips in our school are going again and this week we went up to Dublin to the RDS Arena. There was a one day event organized by the cycle against suicide people. Basically, mental health coaches or really good speakers gave speeches and talks all day and there were some music acts too. To be honest, I had a really good time and enjoyed it there. The talks were interesting and I was amazed by how the speakers touch other people and how well they coped on that huge stage. Fair plays to them, really. They did a wonderful job and I enhanced my social skills for sure. Another thing that went well that day was that I spent the day with all the Spanish. They are funny and talkative and lovely. The best part of all of it was that I understood what they were saying, even though they spoke Spanish. I felt like a bloody genius and was super proud of myself. World class, I´m telling you.

Since I left Ireland this week, I had to start packing. Man, I hate packing and this time while I packed the whole room looked like a bomb had gone off. Seriously, it looked horrible and I was exhausted even before I started. I had way to little sleep beforehand and was just done with life. To pack that suitcase was an act itself. Luckily I managed to do it somehow and got that suitcase closed.

Work experience was good on the Friday, as always and I had a good time there. I discovered that my gluing talent is as good as my drawing one. Jesus, my hand had glue all over them by the time I was finished. The pictures are glued in neat though.

The main event on the Friday was the TY-Ball. Since the Irish don´t have a Prom, students organize a ball in TY. Everyone dresses up and the boys ask some girls out to bring to the ball. I was in a little rush getting ready, because I still had to continue packing and because of work experience there was not so much time left. Thankfully, my oldest host-sister helped me with my nails and stuff so I was not all too late. Fortunately, my make-up looked good again and everything went well. I forgot to put on my earrings, but apart from that it wasn´t all too bad. Before we left, my host father did a little photo shooting with us too, and then we left for the ball. It was in the town where the school is and it was a closed event. There were security guards letting us in and watching over us so that we wouldn´t leave the property. The location was great and gave you that fancy vibe. Everyone was suited and dressed up. The girls all looked terrific! I spend the evening with my friends dancing, and having a good time. I really enjoyed it there and nothing could stop that ´cause I knew, that I´d be home in a few hours. Country roads was a good song to scream because I just felt the take me home part a little too much. I got home around 2 o´clock and only had one hour left before I had to leave the house again, so I just stayed up. Time flew by quickly and before I knew it I was ready to go. I nearly went without my passport, cause I completely forgot about that, but luckily my host dad reminded me and with everything packed, I left the house. The bus that took me to the airport was one of the comfiest I´ve ever been on in Ireland. So that journey was exceptionally comfortable. I got to the airport safe and got through customs and everything else fine. I was so tired, that I slept the whole flight on the plane.

I will make a different blog about Austria. I think you have enough to read with that anyway and I hope you even got to this part. Now you at least have quick summary of my last week and how it went. I had a really good time and enjoyed the last few days before going home. I hope yous are having good holidays too and that I´ve seen or will see most of you now in Austria.

With lots of love Emma<3

 




10 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page