top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Trip to Donegal

After a short night of sleep, we went on a day trip to Donegal (state in the north of Ireland). Well, it was a lovely day. We had to drive a long car ride and by the end of the day, I´ve had probably spent over 5h in the car. But it was definitely worth it!

The first stop was the secret waterfall. It has its name, because only the locals know where it is and very few tourists go there. Since my hostfather has some relatives up there, we were the lucky ones, that got to see it. You have to park your car at a sightseeing platform, where many tourists stay and then walk down to the ocean. The scenery up the north is fantastic! Every time I´m at the beach or near the sea in Ireland, I´m blown away by the beauty of the scenery. It´s hard to describe the scale of it or to put it into words. It´s breathtaking. You can imagine it as a connection from the mountains to the sea, where elements meet. You walk down a green path, leading to the shore and in between sheep. Down at the shore you can climb the cliffs or go on the sand, while hearing the waves come in. Dancing on the cliffs you´ll pass by a natural waterfall in one of the cliffs. Mother nature did know very well, what she was doing there. As you stand in front of the cliff, you can see the small waterfall coming down and when you turn, you got the Atlantic in front of you. Magic, is all I can say to that.

We drove on to different cliffs. The road was very rough, but the shaking paid off. The road was parallel to the ocean, and you could look down to the different types of blue, fading in each other. Magnificent!! Equally beautiful were the cliffs we went to, the Slieve League. We did a nice little walk there and even went up to the top. The view was amazing. Especially for me it was a special moment, because with the mountains/cliffs surrounding you and some little mountainlakes in the scenery, it reminded me of Austria. Combined with the sea, it was more than perfect. As you can tell, I liked it a lot :)

On the drive to the relatives, we stopped at a little beach in the middle of nowhere for a little swim. That water was cold as hell, but crystal clear. We had a wonderful time there too, until the sun went away. But I got to be honest with you. I really like the ocean and the beach and I absolutely love to sit at the beach and sing along to music, or do whatever you can do at the beach. BUT, I don’t like it that much to go for a swim in the ocean. Well, I like the swim, but when I get out of the water and my whole body is sticky because of the salt water, I´m not that delighted anymore. However, I just focus on the good part.

The visit at the relative’s house was also good. After that we had to drive all the way back and got home very late. Obviously, we had a great day and I´m just thankful that my hostfamily takes me to so many places.

 






25 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Комментарии


bottom of page