top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Midterm holidays

Hello again,

Here´s part two of my midterm holidays.

As you could read in my last post, Monday was pretty eventful. It was a good start into the holidays and I really enjoyed it. On Tuesday I got the opportunity to go to Navan (neighbor town) with my little host siblings and my host mom. She took us to Smyth’s Toys! I´m telling you, I was blown aways and just speechless. My inner child made flips out of happiness and I couldn´t believe it. That store is every child´s dream. You can find every possible toy in there. My smile got brighter and brighter as I walked through all the different aisles. Oh my god, I was thrilled. My mom never took us to Smyth´s Toys and I now know why. It would have been an absolute disaster. Still, I couldn´t believe my eyes in there and I certainly won´t forget my first time in Smyth´s Toys :)

The weather here in Ireland is crazy at the moment, especially during the week. Sometimes the wind blew so strong, that you literally felt like the house was being moved by it. Just mad. Furthermore, it rained so much that all the rivers are flooded now and where there once was a field, there´s a little lake now. I thought it was normal for this time of the year, since we are in Ireland, but I was wrong. It´s not normal and it´s new for them too, to see all their surroundings heavily flooded.

But I am crazy and love those kinds of weathers. So I went on a walk during the strongest wind. I don´t know why, but I just wanted to and I had the best time. When the wind hits you, you feel like you are flying and it takes you with it. Very impressive and I had a lot of fun with it.

One event in my holidays was a teenager disco in the next town. We had to book tickets at the very beginning of my exchange. It was a Halloween party, but since it was after Halloween, no one was really dressed up. I still did. I didn´t want to wear the typical Irish mini dresses, so I chose to go in my Dirndl. As I just wrote, I was the only one properly “dressed up”. For me the dirndl isn´t a costume, but for them it was. They all thought it was a brilliant costume and I let them believe it was one. The disco itself was okay. For me, the Austrian events I went to were much better and everything is just half the fun here, without my friends from Austria. There´s just something missing. At least, I met some other exchange students and we had a good time.

On Friday I went to work. I just really like it and wanted to go, even though we have holidays. It was good as always. This time I was in the shop the whole day. That was new. It was a rather busy day for the shop and I got to do lots of different things. In the end I came to the conclusion that I like it better in the kitchen and the café though. There´s just more work for me and I enjoy my tasks there more. But I´m glad that I had the opportunity to experience the shop. I learned new things and got to try out different stuff.

On Friday and Saturday evening we had Halloween parties for my host siblings. These were great crack and I had an amazing time. My host parents prepared different games and we had a blast. We had to take coins out of a water tub just with our face and had 20sec. to do so, we had to cut flour until the pea fell off and you got dunked into the flour, we had to eat donuts from a string without using our hand and so on. It was marvelous.

Today we went into an exceptionally old mill and got a tour there. I found that very interesting. They even showed us the old mill stones, which weight between 1-2t.

I think that were my holidays put in a nutshell. I hope yous had great holidays as well and settled back into school softly too. I know that the exam phase has started and some of you have to study much. To all of you, you can do it! I believe in you and am positive that yous will easily get through this.

With lots of love Emma<3

 














8 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Commenti


bottom of page