top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Making Memories

Hello everybody and a happy Sunday,

I hope yous are all well and enjoying the warm days in Austria. Some of you might still be able to go skiing, while some of you might already go for a walk in the green landscapes. Whatever it is you´re doing, I hope it makes you happy.

The first half of the week I luckily still had holidays. On the Monday my host family took us to Loughcrew. We went kinda late to see the sun go down and it was the best thing we could have done. Oh my god, it was amazing up there. It´s located a bit more on the outside so its kinda part of the “mountains” on the outside. The view was terrific and with the sun going down, the moment was perfect! I was super happy, just flying. In Austria I watch the sun go down nearly every day and to be able to see such a wonderful thing here too was terrific. I think, that “trip” was one of my favorites out of the ones we did since I came over here. It was simple but extremely effective. Then on Monday evening, I had a surprise coming. While I was in the toilet up in our room, a small, tiny, black thing ran from our room under the shower. I was in shock, since I didn´t know what it was. I immediately told my host family and they confirmed that it was a mouse. Jesus, that mouse scared the shit out of me at first. For the rest of the evening, I only stood on a chair, when I was in my room, cause I was way to scared to step on the mouse. That would be just disgusting. Well, after a good night of sleep my fears and panics were gone and life continued with the normal. The only difference is that we have multiple traps in the house now.

The Tuesday was just as good as the Monday. In the Morning me host mother took me and my hostsiblings to the swimming pool. I´ve never been there since I came over and I didn´t miss out on much. The standards here aren´t too high, I´d say. It´s still a nice and tiny pool. My achievement of the day was that I tried crawling again and heaven tell my why, I was able to do it! I don´t know how many times I´ve tried to crawl in Austria and it never really worked. Now here in Ireland I just try it for fun and it suddenly works. Mad, I´m telling you, but I was exceptionally happy about that:) With the positive energy, we drove up to Dublin. The car ride made me very tired and I nearly fell asleep on the way up there. However, we went to a few shops and then went Ice-skating. There are only 4 artificial ice rings in Ireland, so it was awesome, that we could go. You had to buy tickets, but I didn´t get one anymore (It had been booked out, by the time I tried to book it). My host mom would have given me hers, but then the lady gave us one chip too much, so we could all go. It was so much fun, honestly. I really do enjoy “wintersports”. My hostfamily´s friends were there too and I could spend some time with my little host brother and his friend. They were so cute and did an amazing job, for their first-time ice skating. I had a very good time.

Then on the Wednesday, I drove to Virginia, which is a small city in the opposite direction as Kells or Navan. It is a fairly pretty place and it has a lake and a proper forest. I met up with two other exchange students (one from Switzerland and the other one from Italy). They are both such lovely people and we had such a good time. We had so much to talk about and had always a conversation going on. Then when there was silence, it was okay too. I´m so glad, that I found good friends here now. We had an amazing time and it was the perfect ending to my holidays.

On Thursday, I had to go back to school. We all just had the one day of school and I thought no one is going to be there. In Austria not a single soul would go in just for one day. Well, here nearly my whole class was in, which surprised me. It was good though and I good through the day okay.

My hostfamily left for their weekend trip to Rome, early Friday morning (and when I say early, I mean very early like 4 am). So, when I woke up me and my german host sister had the whole house to ourselves. I got some things done and packed my stuff for the weekend. Then I called with some loved ones in Vorarlberg (Nora and Louis). I haven´t talked to them in ages and it was so, so nice to finally speak with the two of them again. That really made me smile. I called to them till the last minute possible, till my bus came. I got a new hostfamily just for the weekend and as always, I am super lucky. I´m staying at the house of one of my german friends. I was so relieved when I heard the good news. I already knew someone, which eased the settling into the house. The family is so kind and lovely. It´s a mother with three daughters and the two exchange students, now three with me. It´s a nice house and I immediately felt comfortable. So far, I´m having a great time here and am so thankful, that they took me in. They are just brilliant! Yesterday, so on the Saturday, me and Emilia, one of the German friends, went to Virginia again. There we went for a walk in the forest and I had enough time to go for the full round for the first time. The perfect description of the forest is idyllic. There´s not much more you can add to that. We had a laugh and then went into a nice coffee shop, where we ate lunch. It was amazing. Afterwards we went into a supermarket and believe it or not, there were shelves full of chocolate easter bunnies and all kinds of easter treats. I couldn´t believe my eyes. Well, some things don´t need to make sense, I guess. When we got back to the house I even met the grandparents, of the hostfamily and had diner with them. Fiona, the other german friends, came over to the house and we had the best evening. We had such a laugh, while playing games, talking, listening to music, singing, dancing and even did some yoga. Oh, it was terrific! They are lovely, kind, supporting and sweet girls and I had a really good time with the two of them.

I´m writing this, Sunday morning, so I don´t know if something special is happening today. If yes, I´ll update you next week. Enjoy the Sunday, which I hope is as Sunny as over here, and have a good time with your loved ones:)

Emma<3

 












6 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page