top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Happy Pappy

Happy Sunday everyone,

The last week passed by super quick and we have much to talk about :)

It started off with a quiet Monday. I have nothing interesting to write about there, so I´ll directly go on to the Tuesday. Some of you might know about my non existing talent when it comes to video games and games consoles. Well, guess what, my host sibling taught me enough about Minecraft, so that I was able to build a full-on house in Minecraft. Now, it didn´t have any glass or anything, but it was a full house with four walls and a door to get in. that´s something I´d say. I was exceptionally proud of myself.

Then on the Wednesday, I only had two hours of school because I went on a basketball match with the juniors. I didn´t go as a player, but as a coach. Man, I found myself there. I kinda knew that I would be a good coach, but to really do it was an amazing experience. What came with that experience was the "aha-moment” when I realized that I wasn’t used to screaming anymore. You see, I never scream anymore, cause I simply prefer the peaceful way, so when I started screaming at the warm up all that came out were voice cracks. I found my voice soon enough and was able to lead them through the game. It was nice to be able to scream again (not in a shouting and giving out kind of way. It was just a very big gym hall and I had to make sure all the players could hear me). Yeah, so that was my highlight on the Wednesday. The teams lost, but the majority of players never even held a ball before, so fair plays to them for doing so well in their first match ever. If they come to training and start improving, they could get somewhere.

Something very unusual happened on the Thursday. The school day passed by quickly. Don´t get me wrong, school is okay but I love school in Austria and looked forward to go there, but here it´s just something you do to pass the time. At least sometimes. But on the Thursday, before I could even blink, school was over and that was just amazing. I had a good time:) I also discovered Thursday morning that I am no longer not only capable of braiding somebody else’s hair but can no braid my own hair too. I nearly missed the bus because of my braids, but I was so happy that I can finally braid myself, that I didn´t care. Braids are very useful, especially for greasy hair. And if that wasn´t enough good in one day, there was another highlight on the Thursday. MY host sister had seen people doing aqua aerobics after her swimming classes and asked if she can join them and if I had any interest in going with her. Of course, I said yes and it was the best decision. The woman who did it was great and I had a blast. She was brilliant. I couldn´t stop laughing for the whole hour and my smile never faded for the rest of the day. Awesome, really!

Like I said, there is much to tell you this week. You might think that the things above are more than enough for one week, but the week went on as brilliant as it was going. On the Friday, I had work experience on the agenda. My little host sister and I cycled to school, which was already terrific and were early for school. I spend nearly the whole day with the junior and senior infants again and I loved it as much as the previous week. I absolutely adore the kids and playing “catch” during the breaks, always makes the kids smile. It´s unbelievable how such a simple game, can make almost every child happy. Including the big child, me :)

After work experience, my host sister and I went to Navan to do some shopping. My little host sister had the goal to get me to spend some money, and she didn´t even have to do much, my money went flying out the window. I needed most of the stuff and it´s not like I bought that much, just what I bought had its price. And I know this might sound surreal, but I bought high heels. That´s right, Emma Summer voluntarily bought High-Heels. I have a ball in two weeks and my dress is too long (or I´m too short, but we´ll stick with the dress), so I needed high heels. They are not too bad I’d say and I´m gonna do a trial next week to see if everything fits and matches. Then I can make adjustments and keep yous updated. It was a nice day out with my host sisters.

The Saturday was family-day. My host parents planned a day out and we spend the day on the road. WE started at Newgrange, where we had a look around the museum and the building from the outside. There was a misunderstanding with the tickets so sadly we couldn´t go into the building itself. Personally, that was totally okay for me, because we had so much planned and I don´t know how much of the information would have actually gone into my head. Anyways, we then went on to Dowth, which is a smaller version of Newgrange, but you can explore it yourself without restrictions. That was nice to see. Then we went on to the Battle of the Boyne, where we visited an exhibition and could go inside. We´d driven up last week, but it was closed. That´s why we came back this week to have an actual look at it. I don´t know, if I ever told you before, but the Irish have really good museums, exhibitions, attractions, tours,.. Everything they offer, at least where my host family took me, is an absolute class. An appreciation for that. Our tour wasn´t over yet, and we drove up to Drogheda. There we went into a gorgeous church, where they have the head of Oliver Plunket on display. This time, we had a proper look at it and it was impressive. The head is well preserved and its stunning to see how his skin has turned completely black. His nose was minuscule and his teeth were still so right. I was blown away! From there we drove to a family-friend´s house. They´d already been here once so I already knew them and they are lovely people. We had an amazing evening every single one of us and I really enjoyed it. They even had a jacuzzi, which was the highlight for me and my host sisters. Quality time of the finest.

When we reached the house after midnight, I was truly happy and had a really good day:)

There is this program going on in Ireland at the moment, which is “every step counts” or at least something like that. My stupid arse decided to sing up for it. Let me tell you, I already regret it deeply. I work out nearly every day, but that´s at the house and doesn´t bring me any distance. Now there is a list and it is kind of a competition. My name is more or less at the bottom of that list and I disguise that. I do go for runs sometimes, but even that won´t bring me up to the top. I mean, I´ll be grand and I´ll find a solution, but I don´t like it. But anyways, those are not real problems, it´s just fun to write about.

The Week ended with another stunning day. My german host sister was away for the day so together with my host family, I took a trip to Kingscourt. You see, there is this junction in Carnaross Downtown and I´ve always wanted to go straight ahead. Yesterday was the day, when I finally saw the road. I don´t really know why, but I was super happy to see that street. It´s nothing too special, but it´s nice to know what the other side of Carnaross looks like. Also, I´ve finally driven through Monalty. You see, Monalty is supposably the nearest town, but to be honest from what I´ve seen, Monalty is barely bigger than Carnaross itself. It´s still a lovely town and apparently it always wins the award for the cleanest town in Ireland. However, we only drove through that all, me with a huge grin on my face. I didn´t know that I was about to smile even more. My host family brought me do a forest. Now, I would never have thought that I´d bloom that much because of a forest. There I was running round the forest like a little child, smiling from ear to ear and all just because I was in a real forest with a river. It was class, I´m telling you. We didn´t get to far, because when we were having a laugh with stone/rock jumping, my host father slipped and fell. Sadly, we had to go home straight away, but I´m just glad that he is okay. So our lovely trip was cut short. Still, I had such a good time and will never forget the day that I saw the road to Monalty AND went into a real forest.

Oh and before I end the entry, due to a class project I need to do a short film all by myself. I chose to film something with the dog here in the house, since it is one of the simplest ways and easiest to organize. So I spend some time during the week filming a dog doing dog-things.

So, I think that´s about it. There was so much happening and I want to tell you guys as much as possible. I wish you could see it, it would be amazing. Well, at least I get to describe it for you. I hope all of yous are well and enjoying the snow. Keep holing on for those of you in school with all the tests. Only one more week and then the marks have to be handed in. You can to it, I believe in you. And if it gives you any motivation, I´m coming home in less than two weeks. Ahhhhh, I´m really looking forward to that. Until then, all the best and all the love

Emma<3

 






6 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page