top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Glamping

Hello again and a lovely Sunday (or whatever day you are reading this). So, the last week passed by very quickly. As I already told you in the previous post, I went to Ploughing with the school and had a great laugh. I also joined the basketball team. We´ve just had one training and it wasn´t that effective, but we have a game on Tuesday so we´ll se how that goes. I´m missing the competitive drive and the determination to the win a lot here, because even in training, I want to win. I don´t know if that will change with time for the other girls, but I really do hope so. There´s a huge difference if everyone in the team had the drive to win and fight or if a team doesn´t take it seriously. I guess, I’ll see with time how the girls are during matches and how big the rivalry is in an actual game. I also had Gaelic training again. I got a gumshield and I don´t know why, but I just feel it way too much. It´s just a good feeling to have the shield in your mouth. I think it´s that I feel like I´m playing a serious game now or something. I genuinely don´t know.

I did work experience again on Friday and I still love the place. I spent most of the time in the café this time and it was great. I´ll be able to make all different kinds of coffee by the time I finish the work experience there.

I had to leave early, because my host family took me to a mini-trip up to Dublin. It was culture day on Friday and there were all kind of cultural events all over Ireland. We went to see the GPO (General post office) museum in Dublin. I found it very interesting and learned a lot of new things. It was impressive to see parts of the history of Ireland so lively and it left a huge impact on me. There was so much happening and I think because it was at the same time as the big World Wars, we don´t get thought that much about it in school back home in Austria. So, it was very engaging. After the museum, we went to a “all you can eat” restaurant. Oh we had a feast in there. They served all kinds of dishes from all over the world and it was just delicious. A highlight of its own!

Then on Saturday I went on a camp with the guides. It was just a one-night camp and it wasn´t that far away from my host-home so luckily, I was able to go. It wasn´t just camping, it was glamping. The camp itself was on this stunning property with a lovely old house and we were camping on a lawn with sheep running around. The scenery was just nice. I had a great time there and made some new friends there too. With them I jumped into hay, explored the property and even peeked into the house. Oh good god, it was gigantic. There was a party going on there and don´t ask me why, but the people were running around like maids and landlords in the early 1900s. It was confusing but cool at the same time. In the evening, we made a campfire and sang songs around it. That was very nice. We then switched to a speaker and danced. I had a good time! We slept in big tents with about five beds in them. It was freezing but I had long clothes and three blankets, which made it cozy. I was sleeping that deeply, that I didn´t even noticed my hostsister coming in and talking to me. So I had a good night and enjoyed the rest of the camp too.

We got home around mid-day today and not that much has been going on. I will watch soccer/football later on today and hope for the best. I still suffer with my teams every time they lose. Last time, I watched Austria and France and I was casually sitting on the couch when my host sister came in. She started talking to me and in the middle of a sentence I just started to scream and jumping down on the floor, because Austria just missed a good shot, I think. Let´s just say, my host sister was confused and irritated. But they will find all my weird ticks step by step and by the end of the year they´ll probably know, most of my weirdness. We´ll see how well they can cope with that. I just hope for the best. But I´m pretty sure they´ll get on great, I´m not that bad of a person, I think. I´m just weird, I guess.

I hope everything is okay in Austria and all of you are getting on. Sending hugs and greetings :)

 














16 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comentarios


bottom of page