top of page
  • emmasummerxy

Galway Girl

Hello everyone, I hope all of you´s are already in a Christmas mood and nevertheless the stressful time, you´s are enjoying yourselves.

My last week has been at least a bit quieter than the previous one. I really was glad about that. Not only did I finally get the chance to recover properly, but also didn´t have to worry about so much. I had a day off school on Tuesday again, because the teachers had a training day. That wasn´t bad, I have to say. I had to do some things and me and my host sister attempted to bake some christmas cookies. They tasted okay but looked horrible. Nothing can keep up with Austria, I´m telling you. Anyways, the weather has made me happy all week. Then sun is shining most of the time, which is always a blessing here and the absolute best part is, that the temperatures have gone down, so we have frost now. It´s not snow, but at least it makes up for it a little bit. It´s this dry cold, that we mostly have in Austria and I don´t know why, but I like it most of the times. I found out today, that it hasn´t been so cold in Ireland for the last 10 years, so I´m quite lucky I´d say. I´ve seen the pictures form Austria with all the snow and I was super glad to have the frost. Would be extremely depressing to sit in a green place, seeing all the white pictures from Austria. So, I´m happy. School is going well, we are working up to our christmas exams, which will take place next week. It´s kinda weird to actually do something in school, but okay.

On Friday I had work experience. I like it so much there and I´m gutted to leave the place after next week. It´s sad. But I´m confident in saying, that I´ll be back. I know that for sure. I might even start working there as soon as I´m 16. So, they get to keep me a bit longer :)

The highlight of the week was the trip to Galway with my agency here. Our local coordinator took us students to the other side of Ireland. It was absolutely terrific. I had such a good time with my friends and I get on well with some of them. It´s a huge relief to finally have proper friends here. We had a look at the christmas market, but honestly, that wasn´t so good. The market had barely stands and good 85% of the ones they had were for food. But it was fine, I had a non-alcoholic mulled wine and bought some christmas presents for my host family. WE went on thought the city of Galway to the coastline. Oh, it was so, so pretty there. I adore the sea, it has an effect, that feels like pure magic. On our way back to the meeting point we wandered through a market on a side street and it was brilliant. There were all those little stands and the were cute. I liked them ones. Our bus had broken down, which gave us more time in Galway. I went off with a different group of lovely people and we found some amazing shops and a pasta factory. The factory was actually class. Like every single piece fit together. After that day I was shredded, but smiling all over my face.

On Sunday we went to mass and as always to Granny for diner. The cousins were there as well and I played a round of tag with them. I get on great with all of them and especially the last week I had such core-memories with the little ones. They are worth more than gold. Afterwards we went to a lantern thing in Kells, where I met some Spanish people. The event itself wasn´t all to good in my opinion, but I still had a great time.

I think that was my week put in a nutshell. Christmas is running closer and closer, which I kinda haven´t realized yet, but hey. It will come sooner or later. I hope everything is good in Austria and yous are all feeling good. With all the best

Emma <3

 









11 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Kommentare


bottom of page