top of page
  • emmasummerxy

From Basketball to the escape

A nice Sunday to everyone! I hope you are enjoying the autumn vibes in the lovely “Ländle” or wherever you are. The weather isn´t that good here, but that gives me the time to update all of you :)

The week started pretty good, as I was told that I got chosen to be a first year mentor. Basically, I get to help the youngest children in our school and help them settle in. I know that it might sound a bit ironic since I´ve got no clue about the school and the system myself, but apparently that doesn´t matter and the teachers chose me anyway. I´m very happy about that and hope that I´ll get on well with all of them.

It continued with a basketball match on Tuesday. Because it was an away-game, we drove down to Ardee with a small bus. Like last week, I played in the U19s team. I had this extra motivation, because my tutor told us in the morning that we are going to get hammered. ( It started because all the irish girls were saying that we will get hammered and as the person I am, I said no, we will win. He asked what team we are playing and when he hear it was Ardee, he said we will absolutely get hammered). That gave me that extra kick and I had the drive to win. I wanted to go up to him the next day and tell him that we didn´t got hammered and that he´d been horribly wrong. Well, I first had to watch the U16s get hammered, but it wasn´t because Ardee was good, they just played absolutely shitty (sorry to everyone who played there. I don´t mean to offend yous). Anyway, then we got on and we all wanted that win and were very motivated. WE played a brilliant first quarter and had a solid lead. Through the next quarter we received some baskets but still had the lead. We were winning up to the last quarter and then lost because of one basket = 2 points. That was disappointing. I wasn’t mad at the referee or the opponents, no. I was mad at myself because I knew, that I made some mistakes. But that´s life, I guess. I can work on these things and I will get better in them. The team can be proud and we improved immensely compared to how we played the first match.

An” eventless” Wednesday, was followed by a Trip to Dublin on Thursday. The whole year went to Go-Quest, which is like an escape hall. On our way there we stopped at Blanchard’s town, which is a big shopping center. The day was fun and I had a good time. My team was a bit lost at first, because none of us had a clue, what we are supposed to do but, in the end, we did a solid job. In the evening we had open night at the school. I´ve never seen the school that clean and tidy. The cleaners really did an excellent job and got the best out of the school. I sang in the choir and had a good time. They sing relatively modern songs, compared to Austria, but are way less organised. Apart from that it was fun and I enjoyed it.

Like every Friday, I had work experience at Sheridan’s. I still adore it to bits! And believe it or not, they all compliment me for my handwriting and my drawings skills. I couldn´t believe it at first, because in Austria, I more or less get mocked for my poor drawing skills and bad handwriting (I completely get that and laugh at myself all the time). Here they think it´s great and I always get to write on the cake display and this week I even drew little pumpkins on the glass. Can you imagine that you can even see what they are supposed to be?

Oh and I nearly forgot. I went on a bike ride on Friday. It was one of the best things I´ve done so far and I had the best time. I just started driving with no particular destination and ended up at the Tower in the next town. It was gorgeous. The view was so pretty and I honestly was happy. IT was brilliant!

Yesterday (Saturday), we wanted to go to my host sister’s football (Gaelic) match and then up to Dublin. But then the match got cancelled last minute and my German Hostsister got sick so we went to some friends of the family and had an amazing time there. They have a proper piano and it felt so good to just play and sing again. I really did miss that. I couldn´t stop smiling :)

Today we finished the week off by going to mass and I also had some nice calls, with some people from home. I had a great week and made some memories. AS always, I still hope all of yous are okay and that you are surviving. Love yous lots Emma<3

 




9 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page