top of page
  • emmasummerxy

first month

Aktualisiert: 3. Okt. 2022

Happy Sunday everyone and welcome into a new month! I hope it will be a good month for everyone :)

I´ve had a good week to end the first whole month I´ve been here. It´s crazy to think about, how quick the time passes by and that I´ve already been here for over 5 weeks. There has been so much happening and there still is, unbelievable really. And guess what, turns out I´m a very proud Austrian! I´ve never felt such a pride before, when I say that I´m from Austria. I can´t count the times, I´ve told everyone how pretty it is over there. So, I´m doing my tourism work ;)

My start into the week was a bit weird. I had a day off on Monday (no one knows why, because there was no holy day or any special festivity). The whole day I felt so weird and ´til this day, I still don´t know why. But I got to “explore” the village center. It´s approximately the same size as the center of the “Nenzinger Himmel”. There´s only the church, the primary school, a shop where you can get nearly everything but it´s very expensive, a nonfunctioning phone cell and some empty buildings/rooms. That´s it. It might sound like more than it is, but let me tell you, it really is tiny. I still like it though. There´s something to living in a mini town that I enjoy.

On Tuesday we had a basketball match. Since we haven´t got enough people for each age group, you always play in a team for older ones, in my case the U19. It was my first basketball match ever and I had much fun. As there we are many exchange students on the team, the determination was there as well and we played a good game, given the circumstances we had. We sadly lost 25:35, but we´ve never played together as a team and I think if we train and work on our skills, like we did in training later on this week, we will be a very good team. At least that´s what I hope for.

Apart from that, the week continued as usually. Correspondingly, I had work experience on Friday. This time, I spent much time in the shop, so now I´ve done all three areas. I still love every single bit of it and am a fan of their business. You should definitely see it. I think the chain has a website, so for those interested, its https://sheridanscheesemongers.com :)

Believe it or not, but I went to Farmphobia on Saturday. Farmphobia is a big farm nearby and they have seasonal programs. At this time of the year, they have a special Halloween “presentation”. Basically, you go through different buildings or surrounding and there are actors that scare you. They are dressed up and have professional make up and everything. The people who know me know that I get scared quite easily most of the time. It was different there and I hardly got scared. I think that´s because you already know that people try to scare you and most of the actors are tiny. I don´t know, but I couldn´t take some of them seriously. The best part was definitely the Dj. He was just brilliant and I loved the glasses.

Today (Sunday) we had a big family diner, which was awesome. My host-father really made an effort and it showed. The diner was delicious. I also liked the company and listening to the conversations. These are the best ways to get information and filled in. There´s one thing that hasn´t changed yet. I don´t think before I speak. That leads to funny outcomes and laughs for everyone. I just hope that I will learn to think before I speak until the end of the year, as it´s not always the best thing.

As always, the only the best wishes to yous and I hope all of you have a good time. Emma<3

 





15 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page