top of page
  • emmasummerxy

ending and change

Hello again,

I´m very sorry that this blog goes online just now, but the last one and a half weeks have been pretty busy and I prioritized quality-time over blog writing. You´ll get all the news now and in the following posts, so you are UpToDate :)

On Monday I had a basketball match with the school again. It was an away game so we got a big coach for the whole team to drive up to Breifne College. Last time we only had a bus and not everyone could fit in. You have to know that most of the girls in the team only go there to get out of school and never come to training. They don´t even take a jersey and just come along as supporters. That´s how kind our teachers actually are. Anyway, we got there and the school already looked kinda familiar to me. I figured out quite fast, that it would have been my second choice on the “school-wish-list” in my application for the exchange. It really would have been a brilliant AND modern school, I think. But St. Ciaran´s is good as well. When things like that happen you sometimes wonder how your exchange would be like when. It is so weird and you can´t imagine it any other way than it is. At least that´s my point of view. I really do like it here and enjoy my time! Back to the actual game, our opponents were strong, but we had them in the first half and did the best we could. Still, we were behind and it didn´t really look like we were going to win. Suddenly, ¾ of the team decided that they would play any more and just struck. I didn´t really get it, but I guess that´s just there way. I´m fine with that, it gave me more time to play. I made the best out of it and even got a point. I´m pleased with the way I played and could see some improvement from the last game. Sadly, we lost, which sealed our season ending. We have no more games now, as we lost all three matches. I had a laugh playing and was happy to be a part of this team. We might not have been the best, but it was pretty cool to play basketball and get some game experience straight away. Also, we improved with every game and I think I was even able to pick up some skills. So, I see the good and positive side of it. The basketball team was definitely worth giving it a shot.

Oh, and not to forget. The best thing about the whole basketball trip was the break on our way back. WE stopped at a petrol station and there was a spar attached to it. Can you believe it, a SPAR. I don´t know why, but I´m always delighted to see a spar and it was the first time I actually went in one. It was one of the worst Spar´s I’ve ever been in, but that didn´t matter. I was in a Spar!

After the game, my host sister and I went to Navan (nearest town) with our Spanish friend. We sat in the front row at the top of the bus. Most busses here are double deckers, which I think is brilliant. I´m always amazed by the view you have sitting in the top seats. We had a good time and got back home early enough, so it was good.

On Tuesday, our Italian friend came over after school. She´s a lovely girl and I enjoy the time we spend together. We baked brownies with a Halloween twist. It was amazing dancing and singing along the music, while we were baking. Just good times.

After that we had a long evening/night as we prepared everything for my family´s arrival the following day. We switched my bed, as we had already planned on doing that before and now had a reason to move it up to the attic into a freed room. I now have a smaller bed and we made some changes with the arrangements of our room. It´s different now, but I like it. We worked late into the night, but the result was definitely worth it. I was tired in school on Wednesday, but that didn´t matter. It was my last day before the midterm break and I could count the hours until my family´s arrival. That got me through the day :)

I´ll upload another blog post tomorrow with the rest of the week. I hope all of yous are enjoying your holidays and have a good time. With only the best Emma <3

 








9 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comments


bottom of page