top of page
  • emmasummerxy

An Irish Christmas

Good morning everyone and Merry Christmas. I hope yous are having a good time and get to spend time with your loved ones.

As most of you know, I stayed here in Ireland over the Christmas holidays and chose not to go home. Turns out to be the best decision I could have made, since I had a terrific christmas. There were a few differences the biggest being that they celebrate it on the 25th, but I enjoyed it. The Saturday was more or less a “normal” day in terms of the “holiness”, but my host-family still had some traditions. I got up in the morning, before the rest of the house was awake and started to send out Christmas greetings. If I didn´t send one to you, I´m sincerely sorry and wish you a very merry christmas from the bottom of my heart! The rest of the house slowly woke up, but my host parents left for some last minute shopping quite soon. While they were gone, I did some cleaning in the house. The best part was the playroom. I helped my host siblings (did nearly everything myself) and I was super happy in the end. The playroom was the messiest room of the whole house and you couldn´t even see the floor. Now you can imagine how satisfying it was to see the whole floor and the shelves cleaned. Oh, it couldn´t have been better :) Apart from that I called some people at home to wish them a happy christmas and to catch up. Then my host parents got back home and my host father and me rushed to Sheridan´s (the cheeseshop). That was really nice and I could wish all of the workers a merry christmas, plus I could treat myself to a Chai latte. That´s something I picked up there. Chai latte´s are absolutely delicious and I like to drink them. It doesn´t have any coffee in it, but still sounds fancy. What do you want more? Back at the house, we finally had breakfast at around three o´clock. We definitely followed the four main food groups of the elves: candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup, by eating pancakes with many treats as toppings. The experience was completed, with my host sister reading out the story of the elf on the shelf. It was amazing!

The afternoon went by and I called my family back home. It was nice to spend at least a bit of Christmas eve with them, even if it was just per Face time. I felt included and had a great laugh. Afterwards, we went to the church. The mass itself was good and short. AS the mass was at around 7:30 p.m. and not too long, it was kinda nice to be awake and fit, at the christmas service. When we got back, we all went into the big room and gave each other the presents. Being a family of 7 this took its time, but the vibe was so loving and caring, that it didn´t matter at all. The whole family was so generous and so kind. Really. The number of presents, I got alone that evening is mind blowing. I honestly appreciate that very much and am endlessly thankful to be in such a fortunate position. We all had a great time and a big laugh; it was simply wonderful. All tired and happy, we ate the cheese and cracker from Sheridan´s and watched the polar express, till the little ones basically threw us out of the living room, so Santa could come. That was so cute and sweet. They also prepared some carrots and oats for the reindeers and cookies, chocolates and milk for Santa himself. Adorable, I´m telling you.

So, that was christmas eve put in a nutshell. Now to the actual Christmas day.

My hostsiblings came in our room in the morning to wake us up. Still in our pajamas, we all waited at the stairs, ´til my hostparents were ready with the camera. Without running down the stairs, we went to the big room as quick as possible and discovered that Santa indeed stopped at the house and was exceptionally generous to all of us. I couldn´t believe my eyes when I saw half a sofa full of presents just for me. It was mad, I´m telling you. I was so happy and overwhelmed, just marvelous. Among my presents, were a Liverpool flag, a Liverpool backpack, a ball and a watch. When we were done inspecting the presents, we went to the chimney where Santa left the Stockings in big socks. In there were some sweets. I got a Chocolate Orange, which I´ve never seen in my entire life before, but it was pretty amazing. The principle of it is genius, if you ask me.

As the hosts of the Christmas diner, we had very little time left, to do all of the things we wanted to do. So we went out on the road and my little hostsiblings, the german host sister and my host dad raced down to granny´s in our pajamas. That was fun, I have to say and the best part was when my host father was too slow for us, so when a car drove by, he was the only one left running down the street on his own in his christmas pajamas. Within minutes, I changed into my swimming clothes like speedy Gonzales and the whole lot of us were in the car, driving to the lake. The oldest hostsister, my hostfather and me went swimming on Christmas day, as we agreed to in August. It was cold in the beginning but felt incredible when I was doing the short swim. The atmosphere was stunning too, with the sun shining and the lake being calm. Picture perfect.

Back at the house, my host father swirled around the kitchen, doing the last bits on the turkey until finally the rest of my host mother’s family arrived. The Christmas dinner was delicious and I have to give my host father some credit. He did an excellent job. I even tried meat again and it wasn´t too bad. Nearly as good as my dad´s and grandpa´s easter ham and that means something. Diner was a good time and it was awesome to spend some time with all of them together. I really enjoyed that and was truly happy. What do you want more for christmas? My hostsiblings and cousins competed in sing Star too, which was sensational. Me and my smaller hostsister (we are always a team) won, just saying. No, I´m joking we had a laugh and it was a good time.

To sum it up, christmas here in Ireland was great and I really enjoyed it! I hope all of yous had a wonderful time too and could enjoy the holidays

With just the best Emma<3

 




5 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Comentarios


bottom of page